Temple LockMarlow Category Outdoor Activities, Historic Sites
This lock is quite unique in that when a new replacement lock was built in 1890, the builders left the old one in place alongside it. The old lock was modified with channels to enable light craft, skiffs and punts to be transferred up and downstream.
There was a weir and flash lock here from around 1544 - this was updated to a timber pound lock by the Thames Navigation Commissioners in 1773. The lock was rebuilt in 1782 and it remained like this until 1890 when a new lock was built alongside. The first lock keeper's house was built in 1777. Today's house was built in 1959.